An ocean full of missing things that the tides washed away from us.

I dipped my heart into the sands
Of this dark paradise
Listen closely you’ll hear
All the Secrets of the seashells
And how the Seaweed is
Tangled up in desire
Seagulls whispering in the sunset
About the poems
the ocean wrote for the shore

I’m drowning in this ocean
The seaweed is strangling me
And all these washed up
promises on the shore
Cause a hurricane in my heart
After the remnants of your name
in the sand fade away
I might be somewhat free
From the wreckage
I’ll leave these memories
In a bottle to float away at sea
This is an ocean full of missing things
That the tides washed away from us

K.J.

-copyrighted on 9/8/14-
Original piece by Kayleigh Jankowski

Leave a Reply

