29 Quotes That Help You Understand Mental Illness

Thought Catalog

image - Flickr / Neil Krug image – Flickr / Neil Krug

Some people still hold [the] view that restraints help psychiatric patients feel safe. I’ve never met a psychiatric patient who agreed. – Elyn R. Saks, Ted Talk


I realize that this may sound hopelessly naïve, and I also realize that there was a lot about my fellow patients’ histories and conditions that I didn’t and couldn’t know, but it seemed to me that a lot of the therapy they needed was of this simple tactile and sympathetic kind. Not because they were crazy, mind you, or because such therapy could cure them, but because they were human and everybody benefits from sympathy. – Norah Vincent: Voluntary Madness: My Year Lost and Found in the Loony Bin


I kept in mind with reference to them the principle laid down by Goethe, that the insane should be treated as if they were of sound mind. –…

View original post 1,350 more words

Leave a Reply

