This Is The Most Difficult Thing About Having A Mental Illness

Thought Catalog

image - Flickr / Sophia Louise image – Flickr / Sophia Louise

Producer’s note: Someone on Quora asked: What’s the hardest part of having a mental illness? Here is one of the best answers that’s been pulled from the thread.


Loneliness.

Mental illness is a fickle beast, it ebbs and flows. It abates and you feel fine, calm and brilliant. Then it seizes you and wraps you in a cloud of torture and tears. In those moments, you are not yourself. Well, you are…you just aren’t the “self” you want to be.

And this is not the “self” I want anyone else to consider me either. I don’t want people to fear this scary monster will erupt if they say the wrong thing, or that they have to handle me with care.

I’m afraid if I show this “self,” this is all anyone will see. It will define me. I don’t define myself by my illness…

View original post 167 more words

Leave a Reply

